THUNDER BAY, ON - May 1, 2012 – For the second year in a row, 11-year-old Thunder Bay native Kelsey DeGrazia Keith Hobbs and Kelsey DeGraziawill be representing Northern Ontario at the 2012 Youth Bowling Canada 5 Pin National Championships. This year’s event is in  St. John`s, Newfoundland, May 5 to 7.

DeGrazia, who bowls at Galaxy Lanes, has competed at the Provincials for four years in a row and last year represented Galaxy Lanes, at the Nationals held in Regina – coming in 9th with an average of 157. Kelsey, a grade 5 student at St. Francis School, has a current bowling average of  177 and hopes to become the first Bantam girls national winner from Thunder Bay.

”My children were active in YBC and I know first-hand the value that this sport instills in our young people,” said Mayor Keith Hobbs who met today in his office with Kelsey to present her with a package of Thunder Bay pins and tourist information for her to present to her competitors in St. John`s.  “I wish Kelsey and all of the other competitors from Thunder Bay the best as they represent our city and, in fact, all of Northern Ontario this weekend.”

Other Thunder Bay bowlers at this year`s 5 pin National Championships include Junior Cody Gilhooly (a previous Nationals Bantam winner) and the Seniors Girls Team consisting of Ashley Bjorklund, Amanda Melanson, Devan Hook and Bailie Lachaine. All five are from the Superior Bowladrome in Thunder Bay and are also representing Northern Ontario.

2012 has been a winning year for Kelsey DeGrazia. In addition to her bowling accomplishments, her Atom A hockey team – Elks B.E.A.R. Kings – won two tournaments and the B side championship since she won the right to represent Northern Ontario at the YBC National Championships this May.

Kelsey`s first two trips to the Provincials were as part of a Bantam Girls’ team which included her older sister Ashley.  The team came back with a silver medal both times.
Kelsey`s next two trips to Provincials, including this year, was as a single Bantam competitor, achieving gold both times and heading on to represent Northern Ontario at the Nationals.

Kelsey’s siblings, Ashley (12) and Nicholas (9) are also competitive bowlers with Galaxy Lanes and YBC.  Her DeGrazia cousins have been successful at Provincials and Nationals in the past. Gregory has won both Bantam and Junior National 5 Pin Championships (2001 and 2003 respectively) and was a member of the 2006 Galaxy Lanes team that won the Senior Boys Championship.  Evan was a member of the Galaxy Lanes team that won the Bantam championship in 2005 and the Junior Championship in 2006. Joey was part of the 2006 winning Galaxy Lanes Junior Boys team.

There has never been a Bantam Girls national winner from Thunder Bay, although there was one from Sudbury in 1980. A full list of Thunder Bay winners in other categories is attached.


Previous YBC National 5 Pin Winners from Thunder Bay

1972 Todd Niemi  Bantam Boys
2000 Ryan Meservia  Senior Boys
2001 Greg DeGrazia  Bantam Boys
2003 Greg DeGrazia  Junior Boys
2008 Cody Gilhooly  Bantam Boys
2008 Amanda Chepesiuk Senior Girls
2011 Amanda Chepesiuk Senior Girls

2011 SUPERIOR BOWLADROME: Bantam Emma Sofea, Junior Jessica Meekis, Senior Kaylynn Black

1992 GALAXY LANES: Susan Vignuda, Jeannette Stevenson, Liana Veltri, Laura Poluyko, Kathryn Lyzun
1986 GALAXY LANES: Laurie Patroluk, Anne Marie Zellweger, Kerri Anne Manahan, Maureen Bicknell, Patricia Beyko

2005 GALAXY LANES: Evan DeGrazia, Adam Goose, Neil Greshuk, Jeremy Martin, Ryan Buckley

2006  GALAXY LANES: Joey DeGrazia, Dallas Klassen, Jesse Desforges, Johnny Golphy, Evan DeGrazia
1996 SUPERIOR BOWL: Chris LeGarde, Peter Ackerman, Colin Cymbalisty, Andrew Gravelle, Jeremy Roberts

2008  SUPERIOR BOWLADROME: Amanda Melanson, Alyssa Rogers, Alyssa Bonnie, Samantha Taniwa, Ashley Godin
2009 SUPERIOR BOWLADROME: Amanda Melanson, Alyssa Bonnie, Samantha Taniwa, Ashley Godin
1985 SUPERIOR BOWL: Melissa Coleman, Stacey Timmins, Bobbi-Lynn Edwards, Kelly Cambly, Lori Edwards

1971 SUPERIOR BOWL: Bob Keeper, Greg Kendall, Brian Stark, David Wilson, Fraser Coull
1973 SUPERIOR BOWL: Craig Cutsey, Larry Dustin, Pat Clinton, Brian Stark, Greg Kendall
1978  PLAYTIME LANES: Kevin Keenan, Tom Stewart, Glenn Rothenburger, John Korhonen, Greg Gilles
2006 GALAXY LANES: Matt McLean, Kyle Goose, Matthew Shonosky, Greg DeGrazia, Neil Felbel

2011 SUPERIOR BOWLADROME: Amanda Melanson, Bailey Lachaine, Katie Bonnie, Alyssa Bonnie

Bookmark and Share

Getting Started...

Lake Superior News tries to provide news and information which is of interest to our readers from around Lake Superior.  Our website is divided into a number of news sections which are displayed across the top of each page on the website.

Looking for your stories

If you have a news story that you feel would be of interest to our readers please contact us. news at

Lake Superior

on Google+


Website Powered by