SAULT STE. MARIE, ONTARIO, May 7, 2012 – Everyone is invited to visit the Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site on Saturday, May 12, 2012 to celebrate the launch of a new season. Activities will begin at 11:00 am as the site’s largest artifact, the Emergency Swing Dam, is swung into its spring position alongside the canal. Parks Canada Heritage Interpreters will present interesting facts and history about this fascinating one-of-a-kind dam.
Following the swing, enjoy a variety of activities and demonstrations onsite until 3pm. Check out the classic cars, listen to music at the Superintendent’s Residence, get gardening advice from the Horticultural Society in the Greenhouse, see camping and fly fishing demos, and get creative in the craft tent. Fort St. Joseph will be on hand with a fur trade encampment and the Sault Naturalists and Voyageur Trail Association will be leading guided hikes of the Attikamek Trail. Parka, the Parks Canada beaver mascot will make a special appearance during the afternoon.
Come on down from 11 to 3 and join in the fun as we swing into the 2012 season at the Sault Ste. Marie Canal. Participation in these events is $2.90 per person, with no cost to children under six. Some activities are weather dependent. Call Visitor Services at 705-941-6205 for information.
The Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site of Canada is one of 167 national historic sites operated by Parks Canada. Completed in 1895, the Sault Ste. Marie Canal was the longest lock in the world and the first to be electrically operated. The construction of the Sault Ste. Marie Canal marked the completion of an all-Canadian navigation system from the Atlantic Ocean to Lake Superior. The emergency swing dam was an innovative engineering feat, designed to protect the lock in case of an accident. It is the only structure of its kind in the world. Parks Canada proudly protects and presents this national treasure as an important part of Canada’s heritage.