You are here:   News > New Directors Tbaytel
  |  Login

Two New Directors Appointed to Tbaytel Municipal Service Board

THUNDER BAY, ON  ---- July 7, 2014 – After engaging in an extensive national search, Thunder Bay City Council is pleased to announce the appointment of two new Directors to Joe VirdiramoTbaytel’s Municipal Service Board. Joining the Board effective July 1, 2014 are Mr. Eugene Lysy and Mr. Robert Watson.

Mr. Lysy has an extensive record of experience in executive management and corporate governance, having served most recently as Executive Vice President of NCC Investment Group Inc. and as Chair of the Nunavut Housing Corporation Board of Directors. He was also Senior Business Development Advisor for Nishnawbe-Aski Development Fund and as a former Deputy Minister of Economic Development for the Government of Yukon, he has a firm understanding of the core principles that have guided Tbaytel’s Municipal Service Board since 2004.

“With the breadth of knowledge, experience and expertise that Mr. Lysy and Mr. Watson both have to draw upon, I have no doubt that their appointments will be a positive addition not only to the Board but to Tbaytel as a whole," explains City Councillor Joe Virdiramo, who is also head of the Municipal Service Board recruitment committee. “Both have impressive portfolios of work which align very closely with the overall goals of Tbaytel and with the needs of Northern Ontario so we are thrilled to have them join us during such an exciting period of growth for Tbaytel and for the City of Thunder Bay.” 

Currently, Mr. Watson is the President and CEO of SaskPower and serves as Director on several national Boards including the Canadian Electrical Association, the Canadian Energy Council and the Canadian Nuclear Council. In addition to his more recent experience in the energy sector, Mr. Watson also has a wealth of knowledge gained from his over thirty years of work in the telecommunications industry including his previous role as President and CEO of SaskTel.
In addition to the appointments of Mr. Lysy and Mr. Watson, Thunder Bay City Council has also reappointed Mr. Phil Anzarut, Ms. Lynn Peterson, Dr. Gary Polonsky and Mr. Michael Power as Directors on the Municipal Service Board. They will join Ms. Chris McGinley, whose term was not up for reappointment. Having served on the Board since 2008, Mr. Bill Baines and Mr. Scott McFadden are retiring from service now that their most recent terms have come to a close.
“It has been a pleasure working alongside both Bill and Scott, as their contributions to Tbaytel’s growth, strategy and expansion have certainly proved to be a factor in the company’s continued success, ” says Municipal Service Board Chair Jack Jamieson. “On behalf of the Directors presently serving on the Board, as well as all those who have had the opportunity to work with Bill and Scott throughout their tenure, I would like to thank them both for the vision and strong commitment they have demonstrated and I wish them all the best moving forward.”
About the Tbaytel Municipal Service Board:
By resolution of Thunder Bay City Council, the Tbaytel Municipal Service Board was formed in November 2004 to foster business growth and drive new market opportunities. The Board is comprised of eight voting members and one non-voting member. Thunder Bay City Council appoints the members and the Chair and the Directors elect the Vice-Chair from among the members. The Tbaytel President and CEO is the non-voting member of the Board and Tbaytel’s Chief Financial Officer and the City Manager also actively participate.

Getting Started...

Lake Superior News tries to provide news and information which is of interest to our readers from around Lake Superior.  Our website is divided into a number of news sections which are displayed across the top of each page on the website.

Looking for your stories

If you have a news story that you feel would be of interest to our readers please contact us. news at

Lake Superior

on Google+


Website Powered by